History & General Info


The League was started in 1953 by 5 clubs which were part of industrial organisations. It was originally known as the Federation of Industrial Clubs (Lawn Tennis Section)

By 1964 membership had increased to 11 clubs. In 1968 it was decided to wind up the original Federation and 6 clubs established the City Tennis League.

The League has steadily grown since then and today there are 7 Mens Divisions and 5 Ladies Divisions comprising of  85 teams throuout Norfolk.

The season lasts between May & August, every team plays the other team in their division both home and away (on their own courts). The teams consist of 2 pairs, each pair playing 16 games against both of their opponents pairs.

The full current set of rules can be seen under the Rules tab.

2018 Trophy Winners at 2019 AGM